
OFFICIATING PROGRAM 

DOUBLES CERTIFICATION CLINIC

The material presented in these slides is from the Squash Canada Doubles 
Officiating Certification Program. The material in these slides may not be 
reproduced or used in any manner without the permission of Squash Canada.



Recording the Score

There are various methods for recording the 
score, and there is no one official method.  
However there is a system which requires 
less writing.  It is very easy and from it one 
can see the pattern of the match at a glance. 
Take a match between Berg/Mudge vs 
Gould/Price.



Berg

Mudge

Gould

Price

0R 1L

1R 2L

R

2

3L

3R 4L

R

4

5L 6R

Players 1st Game



Right to Play the Ball

Immediately after he or his partner has struck 
the ball, each player must get out of his 
opponents’ way and must:

a)Give his opponents a fair opportunity to get 
to and strike at the ball from any position on 
the court elected by an opponent.

b)Allow either opponent to play the ball to any 
part of the front wall or back wall and to that 
part of each side wall in front of the red floor 
service line.



d) Refrain from creating a visual or audible 
distraction.

c) Give his opponents a fair view of the ball.

REFEREE’S LINE OF THINKING
The Referee’s Line of Thinking is a useful
tool that will help guide a Referee to the
correct decision each time there is an appeal
on interference or obstruction.



QUESTION DECISION

DID INTERFERENCE OCCUR?

YES NO NO LET



In his Line of Thinking the first question 
the Referee will ask is did interference 
occur?  Normally it is obvious whether 
interference has occurred.  However, it is 
not always a clear-cut decision.  If, in the 
opinion of the Referee, there has been NO 
interference then he should refuse the 
appeal. Otherwise, he moves to the next 
question.

Did Interference Occur?



“No Let” if A is clear since there is no 
interference.



QUESTION DECISION

COULD OBSTRUCTED PLAYER HAVE REACHED THE 
BALL AND WAS HE MAKING EVERY EFFORT TO DO SO?

DID INTERFERENCE OCCUR?

YES NO NO LET

YES NO NO LET



Could Obstructed Player Have Reached 
The Ball And Made A Good Return And 
Was He Making Every Effort To Do So? 

The Referee must be satisfied that the player 
could have reached the ball, not only by the 
direction of his movement but also by his 
speed and ability.  His speed may well 
deteriorate as the game progresses when his 
fitness deserts him.  So what might be a 
positive answer early in a match could 
become a negative one toward the end of a 
long five game match.



If X could not have reached the ball, the call is 
“No Let”

Although A is in the 
way of X, the ball is 
past the point 
where X could 
reach it. Even if A 
was not on the 
court, X could not 
have reached the 
ball.



A player cannot expect a “Let” if he just
stands there appealing. He must satisfy
the Referee that he could have reached the
ball and made a good return and the best
way to do this is to make every effort to get
to the ball.

If the Referee is unsure whether the player 
could have reached the ball, he moves to 
the next question.



QUESTION DECISION

COULD OBSTRUCTED PLAYER HAVE REACHED THE 
BALL AND WAS HE MAKING EVERY EFFORT TO DO SO?

DID OBSTRUCTING PLAYER MAKE EVERY EFFORT TO 
MOVE CLEAR?

DID INTERFERENCE OCCUR?

YES NO NO LET

YES NO NO LET

YES NO WARNING OR POINT

TO OBSTRUCTED PLAYER



Did The Obstructing Player Make Every Effort
To Move Clear?

The Referee now asks “what was the 
obstructing player doing?”  If he was just 
standing on the shot, whether he was 
admiring the shot or was too tired to move is 
immaterial; that is a case of avoidable 
obstruction and the Referee’s decision is 
“Warning” to obstructing player.  In other 
words, the obstructing player was not 
making every effort to get out of his 
opponent’s way.



Assuming X can reach the ball, A must clear in 
the direction of the       . If A does not make any 
effort to clear, a “Warning” is given to A.



Subsequent decisions on similar 
situations would be “Point” to 
obstructed player.  A worse case 
scenario is when the obstructing 
player is actually moving into the 
striker’s swing. This would be 
classified as deliberate obstruction in 
which case it would again be “Point” to 
obstructed player.



QUESTION DECISION

NO LET

WAS THE OBSTRUCTED PLAYER IN A POSITION TO 
HIT A WINNER?

HE COULD ONLY UNLESS OPPONENT HITS

HAVE MADE A BALL BACK TO HIMSELF 

GOOD RETURN THEN THERE IS NO REQUIREMENT 
TO HIT A WINNER AND A POINT IS 
AWARDED TO OBSTRUCTED PLAYER

YES POINT TO OBSTRUCTED 
PLAYER



Was The Obstructed Player In A Position To
Play A Winner?

We could have a situation where the 
obstructing player was making every effort to 
move clear but despite this effort there was 
still interference.  This would be a case of 
accidental obstruction rather than deliberate 
obstruction so the Referee would now ask 
himself “was the obstructed player prevented 
from playing a winning shot?”



In answering this question the Referee would not
take into account the player’s ability. The player is
assumed to be able to hit the winner. He would,
however, assess the position of the players and
decide whether a winning shot could have been hit
IN THAT SITUATION.

If in the opinion of the Referee, when answering the 
last question in his line of thinking, the obstructed 
player COULD ONLY JUST HAVE REACHED the ball 
and therefore could not hit a winning shot but 
COULD ONLY JUST PLAY THE BALL, then the 
Referee would allow a “Let”.



If the player could have hit a winning shot, 
he is awarded a “Point”.



WINNING SITUATIONS

In a winning situation the 
striker is entitled to hit the 
ball to any part of the 
front wall and the side 
walls near the front wall 
(reverse corner). Imagine 
a triangle formed between 
the ball and the front 
corners of the court and 
the side walls near the 
front wall.



“Point to player 
X”.  A is in the 
triangle, even 
though the 
situation is behind 
the short line.
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A player is only 
entitled to hit the 
ball to any part of 
the front wall that 
he actually can hit 
to. The triangle is 
reduced 
considerably when 
the ball is tight to 
the side wall.



The front 1/3 of the court 
is where winning 
situations occur on cross 
court interference caused 
by partner. In this case, 
point to X.



QUESTION DECISION

COULD OBSTRUCTED PLAYER HAVE REACHED THE 
BALL AND WAS HE MAKING EVERY EFFORT TO DO SO?

DID OBSTRUCTING PLAYER MAKE EVERY EFFORT TO 
MOVE CLEAR?

DID INTERFERENCE OCCUR?

YES NO NO LET

YES NO NO LET

YES NO WARNING OR POINT TO OBSTRUCTED PLAYER

WAS THE OBSTRUCTED PLAYER IN A POSITION TO 
HIT A WINNER?

POINT TO OBSTRUCTED PLAYER

NO LET



SOME BASIC CONCEPTS WHEN MAKING DECISIONS

1) The ball, after hitting the back wall, is never 
considered to be hit back to yourself. Therefore, after 
the ball hits the back wall and the striker then hits his 
opponent with the ball, it is only a let.

2) When a “Let” is called everything “freezes”,
except the flight of the ball.



4) A player only has to clear once for the 
opponent who has the first play on the ball.

3) Take into account the player’s speed and ability
to play the ball, which may vary over the course of
a 5 game match.



5) Do not take into account the player’s ability to hit 
a winner. You look at the situation to determine 
whether the player is in position to hit a winning 
shot (you assume he can).

6) In a winning situation, the striker is entitled to 
hit the ball to any part of the front wall and the 
sidewalls near the front wall (reverse corner).   
Imagine a triangle formed between the ball and 
the front corners of the court and the sidewalls 
near the front wall.



Summary of the Turning Interpretation for Doubles Squash

Y X

A
“TURNING”

A player who intentionally “turns” on the ball (the ball does not 
“squirt” off the back or side wall, forcing the striker to turn 
unexpectedly) must make every effort to play the ball. This 
guideline is designed to eliminate the abuse of the safety 
“Let” provision, often invoked by a player to recover from a 
defensive position, while continuing to provide safety for 
all players on court. The following provisions apply:

1) The turning player should warn his opponents as early as 
possible that he is turning by declaring his intent to turn 
(“turning”, “coming around” or some other clear verbal 
warning).  Failure to do so will result in a warning initially; 
however failure subsequently to announce a “turn” or to 
announce the “turn” late could result in a “Point” to the 
opponents. 

2) If the turning player fails to declare his intention to turn and 
then hits either opponent with the ball a “Point” will be 
awarded to the opponents.

3) If the turning player fails to declare his intention to turn and 
then requests a Let due to his opponent’s positions on the 
court, No Let will be granted.

4) However if the turning player fails to call turning or calls 
late but plays the ball safely, then the Referee should allow 
play to continue and after the point has concluded, warn 
the turning player that future failure to declare a turn could,
at the referees discretion, result in the awarding of a point 
to the opponents due to unsafe or dangerous play.

5) On hearing the clear verbal warning, the turning player’s 
opponents must make every effort to clear to give the 
turning player the full front wall and the side walls in the 
front third of the court, as well as provide freedom to the 
striker to play the ball.

Y clears to back half of court Y clears to back half of court

Safe shot returned to this area between the
green lines by Player X



6. After clearly stating his intention to turn, the turning player, where possible, should play the ball to 
the front wall or to the sidewalls in the front third of the court. If the turning player does not play the 
ball he will not be granted a “Let” if he is considered to be unreasonably trying to get out of an 
unfavourable position, especially when the opponents have cleared properly.

7. If after declaring his intention to turn, the turning player’s ball hits an  opponent who has cleared to 
allow the turning player to play the ball  safely to the front wall or the front third of the side wall , the 
turning player  will lose the “Point”.  Also to ensure the safety of the players on the court  in 
enforcing the Turning Rule, if the turning player plays a shot which is  considered reckless or 
dangerous (not safe) the striker will be penalized  and a “Point” will be awarded to the opponents.

The exceptions are as follows:

Where the striker, while planning to play his normal shot, is forced to turn to play the ball due 
to the ball “squirting” off the back or side wall, forcing the striker to turn unexpectedly; in this 
case a “Let” will be allowed, provided the striker could have played the ball.

When the opponents do not make every effort to clear, after turning has been declared, then 
the striker need not play the ball and a “Let” will be allowed and the Referee should warn the 
opponents that future failure to clear will result in a “Point” to the striker.

Footnote to Referees:  The overriding principle for all Referees is that the game should be played 
safely and fairly, and Referees calls should be made to promote safety while preserving the 
integrity of the Rules, and the flow of the game.  The Referee should include, when making his 
judgement, whether or not the turning player could have reached the ball and played it to the front 
wall and would it have resulted in a safe return.

Ultimately it is the responsibility of the player turning to play the ball in a safe manner.  Failure to 
do so may, at the discretion of the Referee, result in a Warning, or if the Referee deems the 
conduct offensive, a Point.

An initial warning applies to both players of the team warned. 



Some Possible Situations a Referee 
may Encounter

Assumptions in all situations:

1. Players are right handed

2. Teams are Players A and B versus X and Y

3. Incoming striker could have reached the ball and was in a 
position ready to play the ball unless stated otherwise

4. On a normal return, the striker is entitled to play the ball to 
any part of the side wall or back wall in order for the ball to 
then reach the front wall

5. The player’s ability to hit a shot is not considered. It is the 
winning situation, as previously discussed, which should be 
taken into account



Straight situation 1: Hitting the ball back to 
yourself on a straight shot

Player A plays ball 
back to himself.  A 
does not clear 
from triangle and 
player X would 
have hit A or does 
hit A with ball 
going to front 
wall.

Decision:  “point to 
player X”



Decision: “Point to 
player X”.  A is in 
the triangle, even 
though the 
situation is behind 
the short line.

Player A plays ball 
back to himself and 
does not clear from 
triangle.

Straight situation 2: Hitting the ball back to 
yourself on a straight shot



Side by side situation. 
Player X asks for a 
“Let” hoping for a 
point.

Decision: “Let”, 
because X was able to 
play the ball and A 
was not in the triangle.

NOTE: Discourage players 
playing for points. 
Encourage them to play 
the ball. 

Straight situation 3: Hitting the ball back 
close to yourself on a straight shot



Player X backs off to 
play the ball. No 
interference, but X is 
unsure where player A 
is.

Decision: “Let”, 
unless player A is 
completely clear of 
swing, in which case it 
is “No Let”.

Straight situation 4: Hitting the ball back 
close to yourself on a straight shot



Player X backs off to
play ball. Player A
moves into player X’s
back swing.

Decision: “Point to X”

Straight situation 5: Hitting the ball back 
close to yourself on a straight shot



Player A hits ball 
close to himself on 
a straight shot. 
Player A is trapped 
on the side wall, but 
is not in the 
triangle.

Decision: “Let”.

Straight situation 6: Hitting the ball back 
close to yourself on a straight shot



Player A plays a short
Philadelphia and player X
is ready to play the ball
offensively, with player A
still in the triangle.

Decision: “Point to X”,
unless ball is too high for
X to play offensive shot in
which case it would only
be a Let”. If A falls flat
on the floor it could be
“No Let”!

Cross court situation 1: Hitting the ball back 
towards yourself from a cross court shot



Player A plays a
Philadelphia but on this
occasion is not in the
triangle.

Decision: “Let To X”. 

Cross court situation 2: Hitting the ball back 
towards yourself from a cross court shot



Player A plays a “fat” 
reverse.  X can reach 
the ball.

Decision: “Point to X”.

Cross court situation 3: Hitting the ball back 
towards yourself from a cross court shot



Player A plays a 
reverse, but ball is 
some distance in front 
of A. Player X has to go 
through A to reach the 
ball, which he could 
had it not been for A’s 
position.

Decision: “Let to X” .

Cross court situation 4: Hitting the ball back 
towards yourself from a cross court shot



Player A hits a short cross 
court.  His partner B does 
not move clear and 
prevents player X from 
playing his shot.

Decision: “Warning” to
player B to move clear.
Subsequently if player B
makes no effort to clear on
same situation, then it will
be “Point to X”.

Cross court situation 5: Cross court interference 
involving partner



Player A hits a cross 
court towards his partner 
B. Player X is ready to 
play the ball but is 
prevented from doing so 
because of B’s position.

Decision: “Point to X”. 
Player B is caught in the 
front third of the court, X 
is prevented from playing 
a winning shot.

Cross court situation 6: Cross court 
interference involving partner



Player A hits cross court 
leaving B trapped by cross 
court shot.  Player B makes 
no effort to clear.

Decision: “Warning to B”
to move to allow player X
to play ball to front wall,
after which it is a “Point to
X”. If player X is deeper in
the court then it is only a
“let”.

Cross court situation 7: Cross court interference 
involving partner


